Skip to content
Something I have st...

Notifications
Clear all

Something I have struggled with for a while now.

9 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@ash_s137)
Topic starter  

Hello, I've been playing guitar for about 7 months and when I'm not plugged into my amp I sound pretty good. However, whenever I plug myself in and crank it I have massive problems with string bending - namely the strings above (normally the string two above, for example if I bend the 1st string the 3rd string) will ring out after I release the bend. I've searched everywhere but this does not seem like a common problem! None of the lessons mention this at all. :(

I managed to stop it sort of by using my right palm (around the thumb area) and that works fine for simple bends and releases. However, if I want to play something like 'Nobody knows you when you're down and out" that involves bending the 15th fret on the second string three times in succession then I cannot physically keep muting and alternatively pick the bend at the same time. I hear ringing. :(

The worst example is the famous lick in the stairway solo, the one that you repeat 10 or so times.

It's driving me absolutely nuts. Even when I mute with my right hand I get an awful click/mute noise too. It's not my nails, that's for sure. On very close inspection it seems the 2nd string touches the 3rd and when it moves back down the 3rd rings. They seem really easy to set off ringing...

(@lord_ariez)
Reputable Member

I had this problem a while back, I fixed it by using two fingers to bend. Have one finger a little higher and just touching the next string, not pressing it down and it will mute the strings above.

Hope that helps

'You and I in a little toy shop, bought a bag of balloons with the money we got"

feel free to talk with me on msn at [email protected]..... no icq anymore

ReplyQuote
(@ash_s137)
Topic starter