squire 51 purchases - what to look for in a setup

9 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
 pab
(@pab)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

hi everyone. first post here, although, like others, i've made good use of the site up until now.

i purchased a squire 51 a month ago. i've been practicing acoustic, with lessons, for about 4 months now and have noticed major improvement and a comfort with the acoustic guitar. not so with the electric, as i've only fooled around with it a bit and i'm not sure what i'm doing with it.

nevertheless, i have read how an initial setup on a guitar is important. i had it done on my yamaha f310p and it made a huge difference. now, although i don't know much about electrics, i may need to get one done on this one and if i do it reasonably soon, the store that i purchased it from will not charge me a lot of $ for it. i'm going to bring it into them, but when i talked to them they indicated that it might not even need a setup - some don't they say. they asked me why i think it needs one and my response was that i thought most new value guitars do.

being a fish out of water with an electric, what goes into a setup so that i can at least ask them if they've checked it? with my acoustic, lowering the action was the main thing. with an electric i hear words like intonation that i've got no idea about but can at least ask them if it needs adjusting.

any suggestions? Thanks!

Paul

(@kent_eh)
Noble Member

The main adjustments would likely be :

- The action (height of the strings above the fretboard), which are adjusted by the small vertical screws in the left of this picture
- The intonation (fine adjustment of the length of the string to increase the accuracy of fretted notes), adjusted by the horizontal screws on the right of this picture.