Clear all

"Standard" strumming patterns

9 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@hanging-chord)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I saw a piece of sheet music that said near the top "Strum pattern: 3".

I wasn't sure exactly what that was, so I went searching, and came away more confused than ever.

Some sites seem to reference a "strumming pattern 3" as if it were consistent, but they don't agree with each other. For others, their listed "strumming pattern 3" is clearly just the 3rd pattern in the sequence they are teaching you. One forum even had a post that said there is really no such thing as a "standard" (accepted) set of strumming patterns.

Which makes me wonder why such notation was on the sheet music.

Does such a standard exist, and if so, can someone point me to a definitive reference?

(@number6)
Estimable Member

I've been playing guitar for 3 1/2 years, and I've seen something like that exactly once. I'd just listen to the recorded version of the song and try to figure out the pattern from that.

Was the piece from a sheet music download site? If so, it might just be a scan from a book, in which case the book should have a bunch of strumming patterns listed somewhere.

The hunger site. Click once a day to give free food.

ReplyQuote
(@rparker)
Illustrious Member

There's a series of books. Easy Guitar something-or-other. At the beginning of the book, they show serveral strum patterns, naimg 'em patern 1, pattern 2, so on and so forth. I'm seen the same for picking. Then on the song, they'll show you the chords and you're supposed to use the strum pattern specified at the beginning of the song. Sounds OK sometimes. Sometimes, the songs are just plain a mile off.

Roy
"I wonder if a composer ever intentionally composed a piece that was physically impossible to play and stuck it away to be found years later after his death, knowing it would forever drive perfectionist musicians crazy." - George Carlin

ReplyQuote
(@hanging-chord)
Estimable Member
Topic starter