String Recommendations?

16 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@rum-runner)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Hil all!

I'm puting together my Christmas List, and I want to include guitar strings. They are a nice as a relatively inexpensive gift thatI would get much more use out of than some gaudy-looking necktie. Since I am still somewhat new to playing I've only tried out a few different brands so far and would like to experiment with opthers. Anyone have any recommendations for good brands for either electric or acoustic?

So far I've used Martins, Fenders, and Im told my new acoustic I just bought is fitted with Elixrs. I generally use light gauge. My backup acoustic I use extra light because it has a slight crack where the neck joins the body and so I want to minimize tension on the neck.

Thanks

Regards,

Mike

"Growing Older But Not UP!"

Nils
(@nils)
Famed Member

You will probably get a lot of recommendations like Elixir (on the high end) and D'Adarrios, Ernie Ball, DR, etc.

If you really want to experiment don't tell them a brand just tell them the size. Like 9's or 10's for electric and 12's for acoustic.

Nils' Page - Guitar Information and other Stuff
DMusic Samples

ReplyQuote
(@djbouch)
Eminent Member

Check out this guy's acoustic string review. I tried most of the strings reviewed there and realy like the Dean Markley Blue steel ones.

http://www.people.fas.harvard.edu/~desmith/guitar/acoustic/info/strings.htm

ReplyQuote
(@e-sherman)
Reputable Member

DR strings are great.

The king of rock, some say lives
the lizard king, is surely dead
the king of France, lost his head
the King of Kings... bled
( email me at esherman@wideopenwest.(com). I almost never check my hotmailaccount.

ReplyQuote
(@rum-runner)
Reputable Member
Topic starter