Notifications
Clear all

tabs and chords

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@janiswannabe)
Topic starter  

okay, i'm very very new at this and i'm sure you'll be to tell once you read my question. what is the difference between chords and tab? i have finally learned my chords but i keep reading all this stuff about tabs and when i look at them, i am completely lost. how do you read them, what do they mean and how are they different from chords? any help is greatly appreciated. thanks.

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Tabs are just a way of writing down music so it can be played again later.

In a tab, there are six lines, representing the strings. The top line is the 1st (thinnest) string.

Numbers are placed on the lines to indicate what fret is played on the string - so tab can indicate a single note:

---8---
-------
-------
-------
-------
-------

or a whole chord:

---8---
---8---
---9---
---10--
---10--
---8---

The downside of tab is that it doesn't really tell you anything much about timing - standard notation is much better for that. The upside is you can learn to read tab in about 5 minutes.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
 Taso
(@taso)
Famed Member

Tough question, just because I'm not good at explaining things, but I'll give it a shot for you.

Tabs can't really be compared to chords.

Chords, as you've realized are (for example) F, C, D, and A. If you know those for chords, that will make my explanation a lot easier for you.

Tab (Tab is short for Tablature) is an easy way to read music (without rhythms though)

An example of Tablature can be shown with the D chord. The fingering would be open D, 2nd fret of G, 3rd fret of B, 2nd fret of E right?

So in tab, that would look like this

--2-------------------E
--3-------------------B
--2-------------------G
--0-------------------D
----------------------A
----------------------E

*Note: The order of the strings as listed above DOES NOT change.