Notifications
Clear all

those !@$%^*! barre chords

19 Posts
16 Users
0 Likes
(@philippe)
Topic starter  

I've been working on barre chords for nearly 4 months now and I'm still having trouble. It'll usually sound either buzzy or muted. Sometimes it sounds pretty good, but then I'll arpeggio it to check out if I've made a good barre and invariably one of the strings will be muted (and it's never the same one). On a major barre chord it's usually the b string, on a minor it'll be either the g or b, on a 7th it'll be the d or b... I've worked on hand position, thumb position, I've made sure the strings don't fall in the creases of my index. I've tried putting my index either higher or lower, closer to the fret or further, rolling it, not rolling it, curving it... I even do hand strenghthening exercises just in case. I'm at a loss, frustrated and ready to jam my left hand in a meat grinder. PLEASE HELP !!! How can I fix this? I just want to play a decent barre chord so I can move on to bigger and better things.

Mike
(@mike)
Famed Member

It sounds like you tried all the "helpful tips" one might tell you to try.

Sorry, but I would have to say, keep practicing. It takes time and before you know it, you'll get it.

For me, it happened after I stop tring so hard. I stopped thinking about it and one day realized I could do it. I think it was around a year into playing.

Keep it in your warm-up/daily exercise routine and you'll get it before you know it.

Good luck and welcome to guitarnoise!

ReplyQuote
(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

Philippe

First, welcome to GuitarNoise.

Second, quit worrying about it so much. 99% of the time you do not play all 6 strings even when you are playing a barre chord. This is especially true on electric guitar. Most electric guitar is played on 1, 2, or 3 strings, sometimes 4.

When I play a barre chord I almost never hit the high E string. I will often play just 5 strings, or 4, or even just 3.

A Major (barre E type)

e-------5-----