Callouses

9 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@chefie)
Prominent Member
Topic starter  

Hi All,

Question about callouses . . . . . . I've been playing acoustic for a couple of years now and my callouses are pretty well developed but they've developed ridges, probably from pressing too hard. Anyway they're problematic as they tend to catch on the strings now and then.

Do I need to start over? And what would be the best way to go about it? Any suggestions and insight would be appreciated. Thanks.

Neil

Mike
(@mike)
Famed Member

Don't know if my method is right or wrong but, I either file them or cut the extra off with an exacto knife.

Just like new.

*Disclaimer- I am very handy with a knife and am not responsible for lost finger tips. :wink:

ReplyQuote
 geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member

I file em.

Jim

“The hardest thing in life is to know which bridge to cross and which to burn” - David Russell (Scottish classical Guitarist. b.1942)

ReplyQuote
(@dan-t)
Illustrious Member

Why don't you try to file them down a bit with a nail file? You know, the thing that women use for their fingernails? (men might too, so :) ). Seems like that would be much safer than using a knife. :shock: :lol:

Dan

"The only way I know that guarantees no mistakes is not to play and that's simply not an option". David Hodge

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

I had that problem.
I didnt do anything and it went away.
maybe my technique changed. cant say.

a file is better than knives and biting.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@lunchmeat)
Estimable Member

Uhh....why not just soak your finger in warm water for a while, maybe with some epsom salts and aloe or something? That should soften them a bit...and you'll just regain them again.

Filing? Exacto knives? :shock:
Not for me.

-lunchmeat

ReplyQuote
 Mike
(@mike)
Famed Member

Filing? Exacto knives? :shock:
Not for me.