Clear all

Tips for taking private lessions

7 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@bjourne)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I'm about to take private lessons 1-on-1 with a private teacher. Probably one hour biweekly, monthly or something like that. Been playing self-taught for nine months so probably I have lots of bad habits to work on. :) This teacher is kind of expensive (€40/h) so I wonder what I can expect and what to require from him. First of, I really don't want to pay under the table but I have no idea if that is the SOP for private teachers. How can I ask about that without making an embarrasing situation? Second, what if you miss an appointment? Do you pay in advance for each lesson or a one time payment for 10 lessons?

(@hyperborea)
Prominent Member

Whether it's under the table or not you don't know and there's no way to ask without it possibly being offensive. Just look after your morals and let the instructor look after his own. There is nothing that you are doing wrong by paying him and letting him look after his own taxes.

As to the other stuff, it's all going to depend on the teacher. I pay US$60/hour (in Silicon Valley that's pretty typical) and that's about the same as €40/hour. I pay my teacher after each lesson as we go. We have four lessons a month and if there's a month with 5 Wednesdays (my lesson day) then we skip the 5th Wednesday. If I'm going to miss I let him know in advance and there is no fee (vacation, work commitments, etc) though we sometimes will reschedule within the week if we can find a mutually compatible time. I've never missed a lesson without notification in advance but if it was something serious (car trouble, illness, etc.) and not just blowing the lesson off then my teacher would be ok with rescheduling. Again, all of this will vary by instructor so inquire as to your teacher's policies.