Clear all

Tone

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@rdw64)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hi,first let me say I'm glad I found your site.Excellent job!
I've been playing guitar seriously for about 3 years (mostly electric)I'm looking for that ever elusive monster tone.I play mostly classic rock,and I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions for the idle settings?Gain,Bass,Mids,Treble etc.I've experimented with several,and can't seem to find one I'm happy with.I play a Carvin AE185 through a Carvin 100 watt amp.

(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member

Noone can tell you that. Just the EQ knobs alone behave totally different on different amps, if the amp is a tube amp you definitely want an attenuator/powersoak to tame it down. For the rest it's fairly easy: turn the knobs, listen to what needs to be changed and turn the knobs some more.

ReplyQuote
(@off-he-goes)
Noble Member

To go along with what Arjen said about adjusting the knobs, you should remember that each person listens differently. What you think may be a great classic rock tone, I might find it lacking, or to raw, or vice versa. It really is all about personal preference.

One rule I stick by though for classic rock tone, and some people will probably agree with me on this is to lower your gain, and use a limiter or compressor if there is one.

You can also try adjusting the volume and tone knobs on your guitar. I personally feel that this is an underrated technique. Most of my sound changes come from guitar knobs, not amp knobs.

It mainly just comes down though, to what you think sounds good.

Paul

Vacate is the word...Vengance has no place on me or her...Cannot find a comfort in this world.

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)

I don't think anybody's really happy with their sound. If they were, there would be no upgrade market in the guitar industry.