Clear all

Transition to barre chords...

8 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@luvgilmour)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing for about 7 months... I can quickly change between all the open chords in the first position. Now, I'm making the transition to barre chords and finding that I speed through the open chords and come to a barre chord and find that I have a big pause before getting it...

I'm starting with Bm. I can always get the chords to ring correctly, but it takes time - guess I have the hard part down and the speed will just come as it did with the open chords...

My question: Anybody have tips in speeding up barre chord changes? Specifically with Bm? I know I should put all fingers down at once to minimize finger movement, but for now I start with my middle finger then place 4th and pinky fingers, then lay down my index finger to form the barre...

Help.

I'll only be down there (in the basement practicing) for a couple of minutes or so...
My SoundClick Page: http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=470725

(@Anonymous)

I am at the 6 month mark and I have been working on barre chords for the last 2 months. I have the same problem if I am doing strumming patterns other than DDDD. What I have been doing is working with the E-Shaped Barres and I will pick one open chord per day and switch back and forth between the 2 chords. I have a tendency to mute the low E string when doing a barre F chord so that's what I concentrate on. I also pick my worse open chord (the dredded D CHORD :twisted: ) and switch between the two. It's slowly coming. I do this for 20 minutes per practice...even if I practice more than once per day. I'll do the same thing wit hthe other barre shapes as I need them. Right now most of the songs I want to play use E-Shaped barres.

ReplyQuote
(@patrick)
Reputable Member