3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@metalwheel)
Topic starter  

Howdy, all
Newbie here, looks like there may be knowledge to be gained,
So here goes....
Bought a Randall RD40c last year....It's no MesaBoogie (sigh)
Came with Ruby Tubes (junk)
Just popped in New JJ tubes, SUPPOSEDLY best you can get
according to my sources. Now, it crackles like hell
Totally bummed. (4) 12ax7 preamp and (2) 6L6 power
is it possible to install the power tubes incorrectly, yet still produce sound? idk
I am thoroughly disgusted, and disappointed. Its getting late and I need some rest
work in the morning. I saw reseating might do the trick, but I will try that tomorrow, after I call
a local, knowledgeable tech. Never had this problem with the Boogie....the Randall is self biasing.
any input would be most helpful.
Thx in advance :wink:

(@doug_c)
Reputable Member

is it possible to install the power tubes incorrectly, yet still produce sound? idk
Aren't tubes indexed to the sockets so you can't install them incorrectly? Maybe a tab on the the cathode so the tube can only be inserted one way? I think if somehow you were able to insert them so the pins weren't all where they were supposed to be, it just flat wouldn't work.

Does it crackle all the time, or only if you turn a control or do something else? Could it be a flaky connection in your cable, or in your guitar's output jack or the amp's input?
I'm somewhat inclined to think it's not the tubes, but I'm no electronics technician. If you've had it for awhile, maybe a shot of DeoxIT on the controls will clear out the scratch. I bought some from Stewart-MacDonald last year, along with one of their Pot Cleaning Caps. (The stuff comes out of the can pretty cold, so don't let it get on guitar finishes or other places where it might crack something.)

Good luck with eliminating the crackle.

ReplyQuote
(@metalwheel)
Topic starter  

:P Soooo
Back to the tube issue....