Notifications
Clear all

Tuning Question?

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@utah-man)
Topic starter  

Okay, so I am brand new to all this...and Im not a student of music, although I did play an instrument when i was very young. I am tuning my guitar with a tuner, and I am not sure I am doing this right. For example, when i am plucking low e, it says E3, yet when i get to the G for example its G4, should these all be the same? i.e, the string followed by a consistent number?

by the way, thanks for this forum, im learning tons!

(@alangreen)

It is consistent - what you need to think about is that there is another E at the 2nd fret on the 4th string (which I presume would show as E4), between the 6th string E and the 3rd string G; and there is a G which will presumably show as G3 on the 6th string. What you're being shown is which E or G you're getting. I presume your 1st string shows E5, or something like that.

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

Scales are numbered to differentiate them. The lowest (starting on "C") is, theoretically C0, but that is far too low to be heard.

C1 has a frequency that can be heard, so that'll be followed by C#1, D1, D#1, E1, F1, F#1, G1, G#1, A1, A#1, B1 - then you get C2 and the sequence starts again, followed by C3, C#3, D3, D#3 - then E3, on the open 6th string. The 2nd fret of the 5th string is a "B" - B3, followed by C4, which is the 3rd fret of the 4th string. The end of that scale is the open 2nd string ("B4"), followed by C5 on the 1st fret of the 2nd string. The open first string is, then, E5.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)