Clear all

Two Months into Learning Guitar

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@bluesmann1124)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hello all. I have been reading the forum for the past couple of days and it has been both comforting and inspiring. I am 35 years old and have just started with the guitar. It has been a frustrating and exhilirating experience. I have focused mostly on learning C, G, D, and Em chords and can move (most of the time) between them. My next step is to focus on the right hand and strumming, finger picking, etc. Is that the best way to proceed?

I am a high school teacher and have found many students to give me tips about playing...not to mention the teacher band. It is my hope that by the time I teach American Literature in the spring that when I get to The Things They Carried, a great novel on the Vietnam War, I can play a few Dylan songs.

I'm looking forward to more posts. Time to correct some papers and play a little guitar.

(@chris-c)
Famed Member

Hi and welcome.

You're well on the way to those Dylan songs. Good path to choose as he wrote a lot of great songs with reasonably basic chords.

In my opinion, developing the right hand is absolutely the way to go. You can play hundreds of good songs with the chords you already know, but not unless you've got a capable right hand. I'd say that's where the timing, rhythm, expression, individuality etc lives and you can never stop building more skills and artistry into your strumming/picking hand (apologies to lefties for my 'rightist' post!). Discovering that you've just busted a gut for weeks/months to learn some chords with your left hand, but still sound nothing like the original songs because you still have a useless right hand is probably one of those inevitable "rites of passage" moments in guitar. It was for me anyway. Best of luck. :)

Cheers,

Chris

ReplyQuote
(@bluesmann1124)
Eminent Member
Topic starter