Notifications
Clear all

Unlearning Bad Habits

8 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@vylrath)
Topic starter  

I've been playing guitar for several years (largely self-taught). I have rather small hands, so I have been playing power chords with finger 1 on the root, and finger 4 barred on the fifth and octave. Recently, I have been getting more serious with my playing, and would like to play my chords with fingers 1, 3, and 4 on the root, fifth, and octave, respectively, so that I can extend my 4th finger up a half-step if needed. My question is this: how do I unlearn the habits of five years of poor, sloppy guitar playing? I can't seem to break the habit! Thanks for the help.

(@bennett)
Reputable Member

I cannot speak from a guitar experience perspective, but I can't see why it would be any different from any other habit.

I think the only way you can break it would be to consciously and repetitively correct it. I guess as we get more experienced playing the guitar we tend to pick new things up a lot quicker, but then forget how long it took as a very green beginner to learn simple chords.

So I suspect that it'll be just like it was in the beginning: slow.

Anyhoo, I'm sure you'll get an answer from our more experienced folk. Good luck nonetheless. :)

From little things big things grow - Paul Kelly

ReplyQuote
(@duffmaster)
Noble Member

welcome to GuitarNoiseForums Vylrath. I have small hands as well, and understand that learning things can be challenging. I don't know if you do any full barre chords or spread out scales, but those are tough for the smaller fingered people as well. Just do your best to retrain yourself. Play songs you already know well, just with the new technique. If you find yourself going back to the old one, then stop and start over. That should help snap the old habit.

Who needs a signature?
I mean really...
It's almost always lyrics...
or a cliche...
or garbage about me...
Lets just save YOU from the pain, ok?

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)