Notifications
Clear all

Very Small Fingers !!

10 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@miepie)
Topic starter  

I am a beginning guitarist and I'm frustrated with my very small fingers. How do I overcome hurdles like the FMaj chord and barre chords? I worry that I wont have the hand strength to hold down some of these. Are there ways to get around this?

Taso
(@taso)
Famed Member

There are, but you shouldn't look into them now. Hand strength and hand size do not have a relationship. Everyone has problems with the F barre chord when they first start. Keep trying it, your hand will build up strength.

http://taso.dmusic.com/music/

ReplyQuote
(@reasonableman)
Trusted Member

Hand strength and hand size do not have a relationship. Actually they sort of do...your fingers like many other parts of your body are essentially levers with the fulcrum at your knuckles. So if you have shorter fingers you muscles acutally need to exert less force to produce the equivalent force at the end of your fingers. Of course due to this your finger muscles will be compratively weaker which leaves everyone in pretty much the same position overall.

I'm not trying to be contrary but it's just something to consider...

ReplyQuote
(@logan5)
Trusted Member

I am a beginning guitarist and I'm frustrated with my very small fingers. How do I overcome hurdles like the FMaj chord and barre chords? I worry that I wont have the hand strength to hold down some of these. Are there ways to get around this?

Dude ... F maj sucks for everyone. Whether you are playing it with a barre or the more traditional fingering ... it just plane sucks and will take time to develope the proper finger strength, feel and comfort that will allow you to make that and any other chord shape.

In time it will come ... it took me a year before I could finger an F Maj with success.

And yes ... small hands can be a problem, but I've seen people smaller than me just fly over the neck so ....

Logan5