Clear all

Whacky Tuner

12 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@jcjxxl)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

It's been a couple of weeks since I discovered my new passion. I went and bought a Qwik Tune QT-1 today because the tuner that I got with my guitar was dead.

I swear it took me like 20 minutes to tune the darn thing. I was so anxious to play that it was really starting to get my blood pressure going. Is it normal for the tuner to show a string as tuned only to come back a minute or two later and have it be off again? I strum each string with the same amount of pressure/force to try to help insure accurate readings.

I love the sound of a tuned guitar, but it sure is a pain in the butt to get there.

(@bennett)
Reputable Member

I have no experience with that tuner in particular so can't really comment on its reliability.

However, it could be the guitar itself ... depending on how it has been strung or the quality of the guitar, strings can go out of tune quite easily.

Either way, it's not normal for the strings to go out of tune so quickly.

Just FYI, I use a Korg CA-30 chromatic tuner. Quite cheap and very reliable.

From little things big things grow - Paul Kelly

ReplyQuote
(@ldavis04)
Reputable Member

If the strings are fresh, they havent gotten the chance to streatch out yet...that may be a reason for loosing the tune so quickly.

I may grow old, but I'll never grow up.

ReplyQuote
(@duffmaster)
Noble Member

Try bending your strings real hard, and retune. This should stretch them in sooner.

I also recently bought the Korg CA-30, and its great.

Who needs a signature?
I mean really...
It's almost always lyrics...
or a cliche...
or garbage about me...
Lets just save YOU from the pain, ok?

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Yeah, it can be normal... as already noted, new strings will stretch for a while.