Notifications
Clear all

what do you do about sore fingers?

14 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@noise_watch)
Topic starter  

hey, I'm just getting into play accoustic guitar... and I'm picking it up pretty well I think... the only thing that's holding me back is how damn sore my middle 3 fingers on my left hand get after fretting... should I just stop being a wuss, or is there some secret solution I'm not aware of?

thanks
DP

(@yoyo286)
Noble Member

I happens with everybody... just hold out and callouses will form so you dont feel the pain anymore... but it happens with everbody, its normal. 8)

Stairway to Freebird!

ReplyQuote
 Taso
(@taso)
Famed Member

What I did was I'd stab my right hand's fingers, that way the left hand wouldn't feel too bad.

^kidding

Don't be such a wuss.

Kidding, again.

It'll hurt. Eventually that will go away though. Get your pinky to hurt as well. Make sure you are using it. I didn't start using it till much later, and that always made me mad, so get it into the action.

http://taso.dmusic.com/music/

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

Ibuprofen will lessen the pain some because it is an anti-inflamatory.
It will take a few weeks to develop calluses and gradually you will be able to play without any pain at all.
If you start getting sharp pains in your wrist or numbness and tingling in your fingers, stop playing and re-examine your technic.
Your wrist should be relatively strait. If it is not try raising the neck of your guitar some.

ReplyQuote
(@moonrider)
Noble Member

hey, I'm just getting into play accoustic guitar... and I'm picking it up pretty well I think... the only thing that's holding me back is how darn sore my middle 3 fingers on my left hand get after fretting... should I just stop being a wuss, or is there some secret solution I'm not aware of?

The tenderness will go away in a while, once the tips of your fingers start to develop their caps. In the meantime...

SUFFER NEOPHYTE!Stop being such a wuss!