Notifications
Clear all

Where to go from here?

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@cat-soup)
Topic starter  

Hey everyone. I've been playing guitar for about 6 months now and I don't know if I'm practicing the way I should be right now. I had a guitar teacher for about 3 months and I learned chords, scales, some basic songs, theory, etc. But, after the 3 months, they had to move and I lost my teacher :cry: . Since then, I've practiced scales more (I only know the major ones at this point) and have been downloading tabs for various songs that I like and learning them, but I don't know if this is the right approach. What's your guys' opinions? Should I be practicing songs yet? Learning all the scales? Teach me your ways O_O. Thanks for any and all help.

(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

My opinion?
Every song you learn teaches you new abilities that you can use in other songs.
I am constantly learning and using new chord shapes that kepp popping up again and again.
If you don't know how to read notation I would work on that a bit also.
Of course there are alot of other things to learn but what you should learn is based solely on what you want to do with your guitar.
There are so many ways to play. Lead, rhythm, solo, fingerstyle. ect...
Maybe you are content to just strum and sing around a campfire.
Each style of playing has its own list of things that have to be learned.
No one can play every style of music known to man, and who would want to anyway.
Just keep plugging away and if you get in a rut take a look through the lessons on this site.
Best of luck.

ReplyQuote
 Mike
(@mike)
Famed Member

Just keep plugging away and if you get in a rut take a look through the lessons on this site.

Why wait untill then, If I were you I would start off with the "Easy songs for beginners" section on the home page of this site. The lessons are great AND you can here how they are surposed to sound. David puts some rock solid lessons together.