Clear all

Where to go from here?

8 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
 thes
(@thes)
Topic starter  

Hi, I am new to playing the guitar only have been at it for a few months. I was just wondering if anyone could point me in the direction i should go to continue learning. I have all major minor 7ths and major 7ths chords down. I am realitivly smooth with most of them. Unfourtunatly from here I don't know what is the best next step for me to take, be it learning how to strum in a good rhythm scales or whatever else i can't think of. Thanks for any suggestion you may have.

Nils
(@nils)
Famed Member

If you haven't already, start with David's lessons on the main site. His lessons take you through all aspects of learning from basic chords, picking, finger picking, theory and while doing so you learn songs.

Start from the beginning of his beginners lessons and see where that brings you.

And above all practice and when you are done practicing, practice some more.

Oh yeah, welcome to GuitarNoise your soon to be new home on the internet

Nils' Page - Guitar Information and other Stuff
DMusic Samples

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

...it may be a good thing to find some other musicians who play at the same level that you do and start a jam band!..this will give you the experience that you need to develope the chords and scales you learned into ideas that work and sound good out loud!

ReplyQuote
(@j-rock)
Estimable Member

I agree with nils. Start with easy songs for beginners and work your way though. A lot of them might not be songs you want to learn but there is a lesson to learn in each one.

I can look back with a smile, knowing that my ambition far exceeded my talent.

ReplyQuote
(@rum-runner)
Reputable Member

Wow, thes, I'd say that's pretty good knowing all those chords and being able to play them well after so short a time! I'd say you've got a bright future with the guitar. I echo the suggestions made by others about what to do next.