Clear all

Where to go next??

9 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@rsadler)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Hey all, I'm sure this type of question has been posted many times, but I really need a focused direction on things I'm doing. I started playing and joined the site about 5 years ago. I took lessons for maybe 3-4 months, and had to move due to my job. Whole new city, company and work schedule. Needless to say I just wasn't able to fit in time and got away from guitar altogether. The whole time it constantly ate on my conscious because it's something I really want to do. A couple of months ago I had enough and decided I'm gonna quit making excuses and just do it. So for the past two months I've been practicing religiously every day. I've learned all the open chords, and C7, B7, and G7, and one position so far of the major scale and the minor pentatonic scale. My question is should I focus on learning as much as possible about playing in general from here, or should I start learning towards the type of music that interests me? I like blues, (Stevie Ray Vaughn, John Mayer), Rock (ZZ Top, Classic Rock) and some Country, but more Melody than Rythm (Brad Paisley, Keith Urban) I was in band in high school, so I still remember a little of theory. I don't want to just read tab, so I'll probably look at reading music at some point too. I would like to play with others too. I just want to make sure I'm making the most of what I'm learning and not waste time in too many different directions.

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Do both.

Working on only songs is the long way to become a guitarist - because skills build on each other, and a completely song-based approach tends to attack skills in a haphazard manner, guitarists who learn solely through songs often have some weak fundamentals (and develop 'cheats' to get around them, which leads to bad habits and limits their potential).