Skip to content
which are the sugge...

Notifications
Clear all

which are the suggested steps to learn a new song?

6 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@matteo)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

Hello as a beginner I'm wondering which are the suggested steps to learn to play a song. I think that a common mistake is to try to learn chord changhes and rhythm at the same time (which at elast for me quite difficult), so maybe it should be divided in severalseparate steps.

a) learn to play the chords in their original progression. So this means that we should know how long every chord is to be played (one measure, two beats, two measures....) and then start to pratice the progression playing a downstrum for each beat. i.e. if the song is made of a full measure C and G progression, I would play four times C and four times G;
b) when the chord progression is mastered it is the time to choose a strummin pattern Given the fact that it is at least for me quite difficult to understand the original one, I'm wondering if it is possible to play a similar one: of course this means that we should at least be able to understand if the original pattern is a straightforward or a syncopated one. i.e. if the original would be

D ddu D ddu, maybe we could simplify it like D du D du (playing two straight eight notes instead of one eight and two sixteen ones)

or if it would be syncopated maybe we should play the most common syncopated patterns like D Du UD or D DU UDU

Do you think this could be a good approach? Any suggestion would be appreciated

Thanks in advance

Matteo

(@alangreen)

I sit down with the score or the songbook and just read the song for a few days. If I have the CD so much the better. Once I've got a handle on how it all goes, then I start fingering the chord shapes and trying to get a handle on the strumming pattern.