Wide neck versus slim neck?

11 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
11 K Views
(@nadinne_spb)
Topic starter  

Hi everyone,

I have one more how-do-I-choose-my-acoustic-guitar newbie question: I've been learning for two months (more or less successfully) on my friend's guitar. The guitar has a wide neck and it was really hard in the beginning (I have rather small hands) and I still can fret a G-chord only with my pinky, middle and index fingers (but somehow it feels and sounds ok). A few days ago I had an opportunity to try a slim-neck guitar (that's the term?), and was quite dissapointed, 'cause it was really hard to be precise with the strings so close one to another. The question is, when I buy my own guitar (which is to happen in the near future) - what should I choose, a wide-neck that I'm used to (but not really convenient for a small-handed person) or a slim-neck (in which case I'll have to re-learn everything I know)?

And, maybe I miss some big picture concerning the neck thing (like maybe there is a tremendous difference that I'm not aware of?) :shock: :?:

Thanks in advace

You always got to be prepared but you never know for what

(@peaveyt60)
Eminent Member

When choosing a guitar, my advice i always give is to get what you think feels the best. Also, a thin or wide neck is something that you should choose depending on your own style. Normally a thin neck is more like what is found on an electric and i seem to like it more for solos and individual notes. The wider neck seems to fit chords better for me. I have huge hands however so thats another thing you need to consider.

ReplyQuote
(@maxrumble)
Honorable Member

Hi,