Notifications
Clear all

Woman with Small Hands

30 Posts
19 Users
0 Likes
(@mariatherese)
Topic starter  

(Hope this topic has not already been posted. I did a search but came up with nothing.)

Hi everyone!

I've just started learning the acoustic guitar last week- yes, I am truly a beginner here. I'm having problems with my small hands. They are UNUSUALLY small even for a woman. I just can't wrap my hand around the neck of the guitar without muting the high E string. My wrist- and whole arm- really hurts from trying so hard!

Any advice? I realize this must be a problem for most women, so I would love to hear from the girl players out there.

The advice I find googling it just suggests finding a guitar with a small neck. Well, that may be an option for me down the road, but not now. Financial reasons. I really want to know if women have found it easier to play chords with their own alternate finger placement (or would this be a bad idea to learn chords the "wrong" way?), or perhaps they found it easier to play holding the guitar a certain way, or putting their thumb in a different spot... or something... anything...

Or perhaps this just all gets better with time. I don't know. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

as you learned there are small necked guitrs out there.
since this is not an option, then figuring out the best way to form a chord is your solution.

until you can get a guitar that fits you I would reccomend getting the guitar you have set up by a good shop.
they could adjust the action ( the distance of the strings from the neck). closer action will help, as you would have to press down so hard.

I would stick with learning by the normal manner of finger/chord forming; there will be no problems later on then from 'bad habits'..

keep your chord selection simple. you ont have to know a gajillion chords. some are very wacky; I wont even attempt them!