Clear all

Wrong string gauge

11 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@aarrgg)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Well, I've just bought a new set of strings but apparently I've got the wrong size. The new ones are 0.009 and the old ones were 0.010. I guess these aren't as strong as the others so the bridge has lowered. The first 5 strings sounds good open but if I push down a fret they sound terrible. The 6th string sounds terrible open and doesn't sound at all while a fret is pushed down. Is it possible to make adjustments on the guitar to make it sound good again or should I just buy new strings again?

"I face myself, to cross out what I've become
erase myself, and let go of what I've done"
- Linkin Park

(@yashicamat)
Reputable Member

I'm not an expert in this field by any stretch of the imagination, but my guess would be that the different guage strings require a different tension to get the same state of tune (hence, the bridge has moved). I am guessing you have a floating tremolo or something? I'd hazard a guess that the intonation needs checking as well as perhaps the counter-spring in the guitar body which allows the bridge to float?
If strings are not ringing then that sounds like the action is too low (which would be consistent with my theory as a lower tension on the strings vs a higher tension in the counter-spring would pull the bridge towards the guitar body) and that the string(s) are not clearing the frets when played.
Reason for me saying this is that these are the adjustments I had to make on my Pacifica when I went from 09's to 10's (the reverse of you).
If nobody else comes along here to correct me, I'd suggest try raising the action a bit and see what happens. It's something that's simple and can easily be put back again. Of course, if you're using the tremolo bar a lot then you probably want to set up the floating trem properly, which involves tweaking the spring tension as well . . . I'll let someone else step in at this point. :oops:

HTH. :)

Rob