Clear all

Lay Lady Lay - Bob Dylan

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@rparker)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

I would greatly appreciate it if someone could post some playing notes (strum, timing, etc.) for Bob Dylan's Lay Lady Lay. As a beginner I still have trouble translating tabs into an actual song -- too much is missing and I don't have the experience yet to fill in the blanks.

Not really an easy song for beginners. First, there's a barre chord. More than that if you want, or depending on the version of TAB you find. Once you get around that, you've got to take an original recording that had drums, hand percussion, bass and some organ thing (not sure what they used) providing a huge portion of the music. Turning it into a one guitar arrangement may require going a little bit away from the studio strumming.

Then of course, good luck finding video on YouTube that is the same from one to the other. He plays it differently all the time.

I've taken this song's chords and added some, um, emphasis here and there. I apoligize for not being able to describe it in words and I don't have video equipment. A couple of things I do is that for each chord change, I play the first strum a touch longer than the rest, and the second strum a touch harder. Helps me get and project the feel of the song for me.
{t:LAY LADY LAY}
{st:Bob Dylan}

[G] [Bm] [F] [Am] [G] [Bm] [F] [Am]

[G]Lay, lady, [Bm]lay, [F]lay across my [Am]big brass bed[G][Bm][F][Am]
[D]Whatever colours you have [G]in your mind
[D]I'll show them to you [G]and you'll see them shine

Stay, lady, stay, stay with your man awhile
Until the break of day, let me see you make him smile
His clothes are dirty but his hands are clean
And you're the best thing that he's ever seen
Stay, lady, stay, stay with your man awhile

[Bm]Why wait any longer for the [D]world to [G]begin
[Bm]You can have your cake and eat [Am]it [G]too
[Bm]Why wait any longer for the [D]one you [G]love
When he's stan[Bm]ding in front of [Am]you