Notifications
Clear all

New Guy Here

8 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@aaronfunk)
Topic starter  

Hello to all! I am pretty new to the guitar, I went out and bought a decent guitar and just finished my third lesson. My question is I have down all the Major Chords and am getting pretty quick moving between them, but why doesn't anyone think to put some easy songs together along with the strumming technique?

A D
Up Up Down Down U D D U

Something like that would be great for new people like me who want to learn a song.

(@bford)
Reputable Member

Hello aaronfunk,
Welcome to GN. The official door greeter is on break so I'll welcome you in first.
As far as strumming goes. I don't think there is a hard and fast rule regarding a strum pattern. The answer your most likely to get is that if it sounds good then go with it. Listen to the song you want to play and try to emulate it but following it strum for strum isn't going to alter the resulting sound that much.
Hope that helps.
Good luck

Treat others how you would like to be treated.

ReplyQuote
(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member

Hey Aaronfunk! Welcome to GuitarNoise! You might want to poke around the "Easy Songs" forum. There are songs in there that contain strum patterns.

..· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-
¸.·´ .·´¨¨))
((¸¸.·´ .·´
-:¦:- ((¸¸.·´ -:¦:- Elecktrablue -:¦:-

"Don't wanna ride no shootin' star. Just wanna play on the rhythm guitar." Emmylou Harris, "Rhythm Guitar" from "The Ballad of Sally Rose"

ReplyQuote
(@ginger)
Reputable Member

That is a good point. Most beginners only think of strumming as straight forward down up down up.

Maybe ask on any song you want to learn what the strum is and if me or someone else knows it we will be glad to post it for you!

Good luck!

Welcome to GN

ReplyQuote
(@dogsbody)
Prominent Member

Yes,

I see your point aaronfunk.