Clear all

Some kinda Wonderful request

28 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@biker_jim_uk)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

Thanks again Wes, but I wasn't wanting the harp solo, just wondering how people play the melody line on the guitar, how do you know where to start, where next etc. I just think it'd help make stuff more interesting to listen to and might make the song more recognisable?

Oh yeah, would you play barre chords in the shuffle?

ReplyQuote
(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

Jim

Well, if you are talking about a Blues type shuffle song, the melody will most likely be the Minor Pentatonic scale. That is the most common scale used in Blues. But sometimes the Major scale or Major Pentatonic scale is used.

When I started playing, there were very few tab books. And most songbooks were written for piano. So, almost everybody just hunted and pecked for the notes. I would just play a song or solo over and over and find one note, or one chord at a time. It was hard work, but after awhile your ear gets real good. You can usually tell which string is getting played by the tone, and sometimes you recognize certain chords. I am pretty good at recognizing an E, G, and D chord as soon as I hear it. But I spent literally thousands of hours doing this. So it takes practice.

Today it's much easier. You can buy note-for-note guitar tabs, and there are tabs all over the web for just about any song. This is good in that you can learn quickly, but I don't think people have as good an ear as they used to.

It is not all ear though. If a song started with a G chord, then 90% of the time the song is in G. That gave me a good idea of what chords to try.

Most (but not every) song is played with the Major I, IV, and V chords and the Minor VI, II, and III chords. This is a good rule to know.

So, the Major scale for G is G, A, B, C, D, E, F# and back to G.