Notifications
Clear all

Overdive pedal clarity

8 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@gilmourfan)
Topic starter  

First of all I am kind of new to effects pedals. I recently sold my Tube Screamer so I can get a BK Butler Real Tube Driver. *Well Gilmour has a couple of them* I have been having problems with the lower strings sounding real muddy (maybe the tube driver was ment for a larger scale). Overall I really like the Real Tube Driver but I don't like the Muddy sounding lows. I traded the 12AX7 for a 12AU7 and I like it a little better but the low notes are still muddy sounding. I am going to try a 12AT7 tube also. I need some advice; do I need a compressor in front of the pedal or do I need to sell the Real Tube Driver and get another Tube Screamer and have it moded like I moded the other one I had.
I play an American Stratocaster with EMG DG20s (getting ready to install a Kinman Traditional MkII Stratocaster pickup set) I don't believe I like the active pickups. I play trough a 40W Fender Pro Tube Custom Vibrolux® Reverb. I also have a Boss GE-7 equalizer if that will help. I want to stop spending money to try to get quality sound. I need some advice to maybe help save time experimenting and tweaking with my rig to get that perfect tone.

(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

First things first. I'd not change anything on the pedal until you have installed the Kinman's. They are a totally different kettle of fish and may solve your problem without any further ado.

Simply changing the tubes will not, necessarily, improve your sound, you'll simply get less/more overdrive/distortion. What will get more distinct results is changing the brand of tube. I don't know what you're using, but try another make, like JJ/Tesla or Ruby Tubes. I've heard, but not had any personal experience, that the cryogenically treated tubes offer more clarity than conventional tubes.

As I have already said, I wouldn't do anything until I had the new pickups installed.