Skip to content
Will this work? (ho...

Notifications
Clear all

Will this work? (hooking my amp up to a GT8)

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@chadlloyd)
Topic starter  

I'm fairly new to this, so this might seem like a dumb question.....

1990 PRS CP -> 5150 with a Me-50 in the effects loop.

OK, so I'm using an ME-50 in the effects loop of my me-50. Generally speaking it works fine for the jamming with friends stuff I'm doing. However, one of the things I don't like about it is that sometimes the effects are essentially in the wrong point in the signal chain. For instance, if I use the wah pedal it is in the effects loop instead of in front of the pre-amp.

So I got to thinking that what I really wanted to do is have the 5150's pre-amp be one of the distortion settings on the pedal board..... but that isn't possible on an Me-50...... so i started looking at the GT8, and it is possible with that.... sorta......

So my though is this:

Plug the guitar into the input of the GT-8. Plug the Send of the GT-8 into the input of the 5150. Plug the Effects send of the 5150 into the return of the Gt-8. Plug the output of the GT-8 into the return of the 5150.......

I should then be able to use the effects loop of the GT-8 as the 5150 pre-amp, and because gt-8 allows ordering of the effects, I should be able to solve the ordering problem.

My question is, if I decide to NOT use the pre-amp of the 5150, will this setup still work? ie: if I want to go for a clean sound, essentially the 5150 would just be pumping the GT-8's input out from the effect return, and everything else would be disconnected, right? Will this hurt the 5150? It seems to me that as when it is not punched in there is no input to it, there should be no power to 'soak', right?

Will this work? Will it cause a problem with my amplifier?

Seems like an awful lot to go to just to get the wah pedal into the right place in the effects loop! But there are other things it could be useful for as well.....