Clear all

Be Gentle Please...

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@phillyblues)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

...I'm new to guitar (playing only for a little over 2 months now) and must admit I find this section of the GN Forum quite intimidating. I'm starting to practice scales more and my question is fairly simple and has to do with identifying the key I'm playing in for Pattern # 2 of the Minor Pentatonic Scale. I understand where the root note is in this particular pattern (4th string, lowest note) but is that also the key I'm in or is the key the lowest note played in the scale (6th string, lowest note).

So if I'm playing Pattern # 2 in the 5th position as follows:

1st string - 6 - 8
2nd string - 6 - 8
3rd string - 5 - 7
4th string - 5 - 8
5th string - 5 - 8
6th string - 6 - 8

Is the Key G (root note, 5th fret on string 4) or Asharp/Bflat (6th fret, 6th string).

(@scrybe)
Famed Member

G is the root note and the scale is a G minor pentatonic scale.

Work out what notes you are playing :

Bb-C-D-F-G-Bb-C-D-F-G-Bb-C

Starting this pattern of notes with the G, you get

G-Bb-C-D-F-G

which is the same sequence of notes you get in the G minor pentatonic in position 1 (and in any position, since the scale doesn't change, the only thing which changes is which note you start on).

That doesn't, however, resolve your question about the key - but a scale alone cannot provide you with a determined key - for example, the C major scale, and the A minor scale both share the notes C-D-E-F-G-A-B-C, and will share the same set of 'possible chords' which can be derived from this set of notes. But, the key of C is not identical to the key of A minor, despite the fact that the foundations from which these keys are built is seemingly identical.

Noteboat or Kingpatzer or someone will probs post more on this later.