Beginning with music theory...

10 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@hello)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hey all,

I'm an absolute beginner with music theory (started with the guitar a few months ago), but i'm eager to learn. I've got this guitar book (by Ralph Denyer) that goes over the theory but i find i quite difficult....

I think i understand the major- and minor- scales quite well now but i'm not really sure what they imply...for instance when a melody is written in C-major are you only allowed to use the notes in de C-major scale? so no sharps or flats? But why is this, just because is wouldn't sound right if you would use flats or sharps?

btw i have loads of other questions, but let's start with this one ;)

(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

Music theory is not a set of laws, which someone has arbitrarily created, but rather the collected wisdom of several centuries of composers and musicians, both great and small.

What theory lays down is the grammar of music - you don't have to follow it, but good sense will prevail and most do.

Our ears are attuned to hearing certain sequences of intervals in sound, one of which is the major scale - the notes all sound good together. The rhythm section will almost certainly be playing chords that harmonise with the key that you're playing in, so it makes sense to do the same. That's the safe answer.

You can go outside of the scale and add tension, a feeling of movement or deliberate dissonance, that you release (resolve) by returning to the scale.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
(@hello)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Thanks for the reply!

What you pointed out there is exactly why i find music theory so hard to understand. Being more of a scientist i like it when things obey certain laws and there is nothing outside these laws, no room for own interpretation.