Clear all

Modal Harmony - yes , the Modes again

10 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@rgalvez)
Prominent Member
Topic starter  

I 've learned so far that when we speak about modes we are mostly thinking about melodic variations from the major scale, so when we play a mode we shouldn't use more than two chords (or vamps) because if we do we would lose this 'modality' and we would be playing a normal chord progression around the major scale. But now I have a book (Mastering Modes for Guitar) where every mode has a diatonic harmony: for example: In Dorian the diatonic harmony is Im7, IIm7, bIII maj7. IV7, Vm7, VI m7 b5. and bVII maj 7. And now I'm confused. Is this 'diatonic harmony' related to the modes only a reference?
Thanks in advance.

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

What you're seeing is accurate. It's also useless and misleading :)

If you take a scale and harmonize it in four parts, you get the seventh chords that naturally occur from that scale. For C major, those chords would be:

Cmaj7-Dm7-Em7-Fmaj7-G7-Am7-Bm7b5

If you take any "related" mode, you have the same notes... so you get the same chords, but in a different order. D Dorian would give you:

Dm7-Em7-Fmaj7-G7-Am7-Bm7b5-Cmaj7

That's the accurate part. It's misleading, because you can't simply play D Dorian over any of those chords - once you pop in the C7 (or the Bm7b5) you establish a harmonic tension that wants release... and since that release wants to go to a C-root chord, you'll be fighting against the modal melody; it'll sound like C major.

Which makes it useless.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@fretsource)
Prominent Member