Clear all

sus2/add9

7 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

okay, so i have been learning some andy summers stuff lately, as i am a huge police fan and we are currently covering one of their songs. however, i saw an interview on youtube with him |(no link im afraid), where he says he likes to play in fifths, so i had a listen to message in a bottle, cobbled out in my head how to play in 5ths for those chords and was amazed to hear i had it right when i played the main riff.

but when you play a chord like that, lets say a C chord (which played in fifths is C, G, D), what chord actually is it? I tried to figure it out but i arrived at both a sus2 chord and an add9 chord. are they both the same? what is it im missing??

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Chord names can be confusing. And a lot of people are confused in what they write out in chord progressions... so you'll see this set of notes labeled "Csus2" pretty often, especially on line.

Proper chord names also depend on context; that means the same set of notes can actually be labeled correctly in one situation, but in another it's dead wrong. So the right name for those notes depends on what came right before them and what comes just after them - harmony is a complex subject.

C-G-D can be one of three things:

1. Gsus. Suspended chords are the 1-4-5 of the root's major scale. The fact that C is a bass note doesn't change the chord name; if it did, we'd call C-E-G a C major, and E-G-C an Emb6(no fifth). Despite the fact that some people tell you "sus" means to replace the third with whatever comes after it - i.e. that C-D-G is a "sus2", that interpretation has no basis in harmony.