Notifications
Clear all

Newbie's Outlook on Guitar

3 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@davec2289)
Topic starter  

Hey i'm new here and i just feel like posting this....
When i started getting into the punk rock scene(thankfully since then i have broadened my musical tastes rather widely), something made me want to pick up a guitar. Coming from a musically inclined family, i think it might have been my natural instinct to desire to play the guitar. So in 2003, i got a shitty electric guitar for christmas, but hey it was a guitar. As a beginner guitarist, i did not know all about the theory that goes into music, it almost felt like a different world. I was too caught up playing power chords along to blink 182 and printing out tabs for all their songs. I definitely started off on the wrong note. Now as i look back on my beginnings as a guitarist, i feel agonized at the fact that i did not sit down and learn my instrument and the basis behind theory and scales while i was learning the guitar. I had a set goal for myself when i first got the guitar. I always told myself that i wanted to be a self-taught guitarist. Little did i know i was hardly teaching myself at all. Therefore, now i am picking my brain apart, and teaching myself my instrument. Punk music is fun and everything, but half of the guitarists actually playing dont know what their playing, why it sounds good, and how it was figured out. My goal is to know my instrument like the back of my hand. My mentality before discovering this whole other side to guitar was all about technique and making myself appear like a good guitarist. However, i have come to find out that knowledge yields technique, and knowledge can only be obtained through reading anything and everything about the guitar. I believe a good guitarist is a guitarist who knows their instrument well, not one who can play the latest riff in that new punk song thats all over the airwaves.....eehh...i was so young and stupid....

(@paul-donnelly)
Noble Member