Notifications
Clear all

Question

80 Posts
18 Users
0 Likes
24.4 K Views
(@jumpinjackie)

Word association thread, Oh yeah! Who started it? jumpinJackie, that's who!
Anyway, I'll get back to you guys when I've actually read this entire thread and understand it (or try to understand it). I just wanted you to know that it's really inspiring that nobody here has played more than a year and you're all so much better than I am. I guess it's time to start practicing...

"Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever."
- Napolean Bonaparte

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

First, let me say I am qualified to answer your question because I have been playing guitar for 25 years., I was a music and comp. sci major in college and I have studied with big name playes Steve Khan, Kevin Eubanks and others.  I have also authored guitar transcription books for Hal Leonard Publishing.

The chord E, G#, B, D#, F# is of course EMaj7(add9).  No problem.  Doesn't matter what mode your in.  A chord is a chord.

The chord E, G, B, D, F is Emin7(flat 9).  Again, still doesn't matter which mode your in.  

It is very simple to figure out.  Look at your root note E and ask:
How is G related to E?  answer - minor 3rd
How is B related to E? answer - 5th
How is D related to E?  answer - 7th
How is F related to E?  answer-  1/2 step above so a flat 9.

Now, regarding the modes:  Use the modes as a way to spice up or vary your guitar solos.  Dorian is a killer mode to get used to for a guitarist because it is so similar to a minor scale, which of course has a nice implied blues/pentatonic feel which gutiar players gravitate to.  So if the chord changes are a simple ii/V pattern like Amin7 to D7, then how about playing A Dorian on that.  The notes would be:
A, B, C, D, E, F#, G   which is really a minor scale, only it has a major 6th (the F# is perfect for the D7) as opposed to a minor 6th.