Clear all

Scales and improvising

6 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@guitar_man_910)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I am a beginner. I took lessons for 3 years. That was over 15 years ago. I have started playing again. Playing other bands' songs is starting to bore me. I want to improvise. I got a really good deal on a book that has a ton of chords and scales. I want to improvise. I need a little help. What scales can be put together? I have tried playing various scales out of order. You know the way a solo would be written. But it just doesn't sound cool. Any advice will be accepted. Thanks.

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Scales by themselves won't sound cool - it's what you do with them that matters... and you can use any scale to make a cool solo.

The most common scales will be the pentatonics and the blues scale for rock soloing, followed by the major and harmonic minor scales.

In any scale, you'll have a few tones that sound really, really solid against the chord, one or two others that sound weaker but still ok, and the remaining two or three that don't sound terrible, but they don't sound great (I'm talking about one note held over the chord here). They're all important in building solos.

A solo is constructed of phrases. They can be bits of scale runs, parts of arpeggios, leaps from one note to another, or all of the above. You want to know where the strong notes are, because that's where you want to be at the chord change - if you're in C, and the chord is changing from C to F, you want to land on a note that's in the F chord (F, A, or C). The F will sound the most solid, and that's often used to end a solo - land on the root note of the final chord, and everything before that point sounds a little more intentional.