Clear all

Scales/Arpeggiation

9 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@scalar-king)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

So I've been playing for about two months, and im just starting to feel kind of comfortable with everything. I have a question though. Would it be wrong for me to start thinking about my scales as 1,3,5,7,9,etc(position wise) and 2,4,6,8,10,etc(position wise)? Also, would it be beneficial to just arpeggiate everything.

In other words, can i view chords as mini scales and therefor just move from chord to chord arpeggiating most of the time?

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

You'd be right to think of scales as 1, 9, 3, 4/11, 5, 6/13, and 7. I'd think of the 2 as 9 - only guitarists ever reference it as a "2" in building chords... every other musician thinks of it as 9. For the 4 and 6, I'd learn think of them both ways - that way you'll instantly know how to work a sus4, a 6th, an 11th and a 13th chord.

And yes, you can move from chord to chord through arpeggios. Many jazz players (and bass players) do exactly that.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@coolnama)
Prominent Member

Hmm, I dont understand what you mean about arpeggios, instead of strumming just do arpeggios ?

Because Ive seen people talking about this in Jazz forums and I think to myself, OK could it really be that simple ? Just go from chord to chord using arpeggios instead of strumming ? Ive also seen people that say that they do this to solo, do they follow the chord progression from chord to chord just using arpeggios instead ?

And about the scale degrees, well 2 and 9 arent the same thing, 9 is 2 but one octave higher, the 2 is used when u use sus 2 chords, the 4 in sus 4, and there are 6th chords, which sound really neat. The 9 is used for 9th chords 11th for 11th chords and 13th for 13th chords.

One question, when you use quartal harmony to build chords... you use 1 4 6 ? or 1, 4, 7 ? or what ? ( that questionjust kida popped into my mind )