hope this is the right forum
i have a tab that calls this a E11b9 but, i have no idea
capoed at the 4th fret, standard tuning, all strings ring

also what would it be open (2nd fret)

edit "capoed"for "barred"

#4491....

(@almann1979)
Noble Member

As i had no idea whatsoever, i used an internet chord name finder which gave me these names
Ab flat5 6th
F m 6th
D Ø half dimº
C add9 aug5 sus4

im interested to see if any of them are the right answer :D

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

If I'm understanding your diagram, the frets played are 456564? Ignoring the fact that it's practically unplayable...

Those notes are G#-D-G#-C-F-G#. The name of a chord depends on the context - something like this can have several names depending on how it's being used (but only one name will usually be correct for a given situation).

I can see the logic of it being an E dominant chord type, because you have the G#-D tritone. Of course, that tritone also exists between D-Ab in a Bb dominant chord. And with no E or Bb, either would be rootless. And we've got no B - the fifth of an E-root chord... but we do have an F; that's the fifth of Bb.

So let's start with the assumption that E makes sense for other reasons. We've got G# (3rd), D (b7), C (b6th/b13th), and F (b9). With no 11th (A), it's not an 11th chord. But it could be E7(b13b9).

Now let's see what happens if Bb is the root... we've got Ab (b7), D (3rd), C (9) and F (5). That's a rootless Bb9. Without a strong reason to call it something else, that's what I'd probably go with. And without the barre - playing just strings 5-2 - that's a grip I'll use at times for a 9th chord.

In the absence of some solid reason to say Bb isn't the root, I'd go with the simple name :)

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@twistedlefty)