Clear all

What should I focus on now?

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@deadat27)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Ok I've taught myself enough to understand TAB, scales (though I cant remember what a C scale is & such) as well as the different open chords (I dont now what chords sound well with eachother though) and I currently just play parts of some songs. I've been playing for 6 months now and plan to take lessons soon so what do you guys suggests I focus on learning as far as music theroy goes at this point, got any specific lessons on this website for a guy like me?

Id really like to try to compose some of my own songs but without the correct knowledge I dont know how to go about it.

(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

The first thing to learn is keys and how they are constructed. I suggest that you buy a good theory starter book (Tom Serb's book is excellent and designed specifically for guitarists). Better still, Tom is a regular here under the name Noteboat - so you can always ask the author himself.

That'll keep you busy for a while.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
(@alex_)
Honorable Member

internet internet internet :D

ReplyQuote
(@psychonik)
Reputable Member

Compose your own music, eh?

This is how i do it.

learn chord theory. take it slow. build your chords from scratch, to suit the sound your looking for.

now learn harmony. What notes sound good against the chords you are playing? remember to include all chord notes as possible harmonizers.

use this to create chord progressions, or just refer to the circle of fifths (not what i do, but what id reccomend if, you want to take the easy way until you've got the harmony thing down pat)