Skip to content
Arranging Things : ...

Notifications
Clear all

Arranging Things : (An Introduction to Song Arrangement)

8 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@larsenr)
Topic starter  

Hi,
This question is about the lesson
"Arranging Things : (An Introduction to Song Arrangement - Part 1)"

The section I have a question on is about halfway through the lesson,

"Twinkle #2"
Key of A

In measures 1, 2, 5, 7, 9 and 10:

it indicates to be holding the 5th string down on the 3th fret while playing the A chord. As a beginner, I'm wondering how to do I do this? The only A chord I know is played on the 2,3 and 4 strings, 2nd fret with the fifth and sixth strings open. I can't figure out how to play these bass notes.

This difficulty arises other places in the bass line as well, such as in measures 5 and 7, being asked to play the 4th string, 4th fret while holding the D chord

Thanks for the help :)
Ruth[/img]

(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

Hi,

If you read a little further, in the text, you'll find and explanation:
Technically, we are, in a sense, changing the chords in our song. While the first two notes are "A," we could now call the second two note "A/C#," which is the standard way to indicate an A major chord with the C# note in the bass. I don't really want you to worry about that right now. Instead, simply listen to how the two lines play with and against each other, sometimes mimicking one another in parallel motion, sometimes one moving while the other doesn't and sometimes going in opposite directions. You can create a lot of drama with just two notes!

Hope that helps.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
(@larsenr)
Topic starter  

Hi Greybeard,