10 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
12.1 K Views
(@steelstring)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hi there everybody,

I started learning David's Lesson "Dock of the Bay" today, it's a great song and a superb lesson - the 1st Strumming Pattern used for the Song is Easy and Fits perfect .. but i've troubles figuring out how to strum the Chords in Examle #4. I tried various combinations of Up and Downs .. but somehow nothing i do sounds like the Sample - the B7 pattern in the first bar for example seems shorter than played in the Recorded mp3. I think it's up to me .. and my untrained ears .. so i appreciate any help I can get here.

cheers,

Steelstring

And were an epitaph be my story,
I'd have a short one ready for my own,
I would have written on me on my stone:
I had a Lover's Quarrel with the world.

(Robert Lee Frost)

(@1st_act)
Estimable Member

I don't have an answer for you, but I'm with you. I started working on this lesson last night. My biggest struggle last night was how to fit in the verse transitions with the regular verse strumming pattern.

Hope you get your answer soon

1st

ReplyQuote
(@steelstring)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I don't have an answer for you, but I'm with you. I started working on this lesson last night. My biggest struggle last night was how to fit in the verse transitions with the regular verse strumming pattern.

Hope you get your answer soon

1st

As for the regular Strumming Pattern:

G....................................B7

D-------DU-------UDU------DDUUDU
Sitting in the mooorning Sun

........C.....................................A

-------D-------DU-------UDU------DDUUDU
I'll be sitting in the Eeevening come

And so on ..

Remember that the Singer stretches 8) Single Words during the Verses (like the word "morning") .. maybe that makes it easier for you ... hope that helps somehow.