Clear all

Come original.

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@saber)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Hey, I'm pretty new to the guitar and have only been trying to write music more recently. I've run into a problem a lot where I'll figure something out on the guitar and about 30 seconds after playing it, I'll feel like I've heard it before, and I get nervous about whether it's something I originally came up with, or had already heard and just accidentally figured out on the guitar. This happens especially when I figure a tune out quickly, and it becomes naturally right out of the brewing pot, so to speak.

I understand that nothings completely original, and everyone's copying someone to some degree, but I become fearful that I'm copying someone EXACTALLY as they wrote it, and become tempted to just abandon that path and try to find something else that sounds less familiar.

Does this happen to anyone else? Do you have any ways of working around it if it does?

"Like the coldest winter chill. Heaven beside you. Hell within." -Jerry Cantrell

(@afterblast)
Estimable Member

for starters yes I would bet my hat that this has happened to everyone who has tried to make a song at some point.

one thing I do is that when I get in the mood to try to write out lyrics or a song I try not to have any other music playing in the backround. This helps me concentrate on my own ideas.

Also I think that even though many songs and styles sound the same they are not necisarily copying each other. I think that when you write a song that you truly like what you have done is to put what you feel in music format. In short, your song is a musical representation of your thoughts, feelings,opinions, or experiences. All of which are your own. Even if you can describe the song as sounding like this artist, or written in the same form as another artist, It is still a song that you feel represents you.

wherever you go, there you are.

ReplyQuote
(@guitar_goddess)