Skip to content
COMPLETE NOVICE IN ...

Notifications
Clear all

COMPLETE NOVICE IN NEED OF HELP PLEASE!!!!!

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
 AKD
(@akd)
Topic starter  

Hi everyone. am a complete novice at this so would really appreciate any input anyone could give....
(Try again!):

Only Second Best

You stand there looking at me
Waiting for me to speak
But I dont know how to say what i feel
It hurts that you think I dont know
That your longing for something else
Sending out that silent appeal

I dont want to do this again
BRIDGE
I see those little lies
That hide there in your eyes
That lead you without surprise
Down the road
You want to follow

But you know...
CHORUS
You will walk that road alone
With no sign or map to guide you
On that winding road of unknown
But dont come home
Without the love I need you to invest
All the while you think
You've been Stuck with second best.

You stand there speaking at me
Waiting for me to reply
But i dont want to sart up a fight
Your contradiction has me confused
And i dont want to hear it
Cos that just wont make it right.

(BRIDGE)
But you Know
(CHORUS)

You were my last chance
You were my leap of faith
Now lost my trust in romance
You said dont tar me with the same brush
But that was all a load of mush
Cos baby, you're just the same

(BRIDGE)
But you know
(CHORUS)

WATER AND FIRE

(@surly)
Trusted Member

the rhyming scheme is kinda all over the place. but i like that. alot of people like a set structure but i reckon with this song it gives it the kinda of turbulent feel that fits the song.

maybe a few too many syllables in some lines every now and then, makes it seem a bit clumsy sometimes. But I do exact the same thing in my songs. maybe im just not singing it in my head right.

When i write I always finish with a heaps of words in my verses then i think 'could i say the same thing with less words' and try and cut the fat, so to speak. Again, up to you.