Clear all

I Was Born To Rock And Roll

7 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

Well, it's been a strange few weeks - arm in a sling, haven't played guitar at all, haven't even been bothered writing - because normally I need a guitar in my hand. Tonight, I got an idea for a chorus....and the rest of the song took about 15 mins to write.

Basically, it's how I feel about life, and rock'n'roll.....

I Was Born To Rock And Roll.

I never wanted to be a soldier, never wanted to be a sailor,
And any kind of sporting career, was always doomed to failure,
Didn't want to be an engine driver, a fireman or detective,
Didn't fancy being a legal eagle, I'm a little more selective,

I've always had one single goal, I was made to play one role,
I've always known deep down in my soul, I was born to rock and roll!

I never wanted to work for a living, I've always been lazy,
Saw the Beatles on Top Of The Pops, man I just went crazy!
I knew right there and then, with the music in my ears,
I could never nine-to-five, I needed a music career,

So when I started work, I saved all my pay,
I just had to have a guitar,
Played it for a week and realised
I'd never be a rock'n'roll star.

But I persevered, and little by little,
I learned a few rock'n'roll songs,
Nowadays I play for my own amusement,
The dreams of stardom are long long gone....

I always dreamed that someday, maybe, I'd be in a band
Maybe not playing in some huge stadium, maybe somewhere less grand,
In the pubs and clubs, maybe playing covers, that'd be all right,
Long as I can play real loud, and play rock'n'roll all night!

As always, all feedback welcome.

I've been a VERY good boy - followed Doctor's orders to the letter. Never touched a guitar, so here's hoping tomorrow he'll tell me I can pick up a guitar again....I really NEEED to be playing music! My shoulder feels like it's back to normal, so hopefully no more sling.....

:D :D :D

Vic