songwriting

8 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@bdkauff)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Hey everyone,
I have been playing for about 6 months now and started taking lessons a few weeks ago. Had a couple of lessons early on too. My playing is actually coming along pretty well I think, especially recently. So I'm learning theory, which is really fun (gasp!) and interesting (the horror!). More specifically, keys, scales, chord progression theory, etc. I want to be in a band and write my own music, so I do a lot of practicing that, as opposed to practicing songs written by other people. So my problem is, is that using the basic theory I know, and my ear, and the chords I know, the songs or tunes that I'm coming up with sound un-interesting. they sound "good" but un-moving, hokey, too "acoustic-y", etc. Not sure if you all know what I mean. Is this mostly from just beginning to play and not knowing more chords, notes, etc. Do I need more variation in terms of chords in major, minor, flat, sharp, dim, etc. etc.?

Thanks in advance and sorry for such long-windedness.

(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

Great question. I am not much of a songwriter myself, but I think I could give some input.

First you have to ask yourself what kind of sound you are after, and why particular genre's of music sound the way they do.

For instance, lots of modern Rock is played on acoustic, but still sounds incredibly heavy. Why?

Well, for one thing, bands tune down now. They will tune a half-step, whole step or even more. This will give a much heavier tone to the music. I think bands avoid normal major and minor chords as well. Take a regular A chord and compare the sound with an Aadd9.

A= 0 0 2 2 2 0
Aadd9= 0 0 2 2 0 0