Skip to content
13 years of playing...

Notifications
Clear all

13 years of playing, but it sure doesn't sound like it!

6 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@glassjaw0814)
Topic starter  

I'm a newcomer to this site, and my frustration is immense lately. I started playing the guitar when I was 13, and was self taught 100%. 13 years later, about to turn 26, and I think my playing is pretty low level. There are so many techniques that you'd think someone that's been playing as long as I have could do, but I fail miserably at them.

I'm coming here for advice - I am starting a new practicing regimen to improve my sloppy alternate picking and improve my speed, but what are some things that I should be doing otherwise? Would you recommend I start taking lessons?

(@staffan)
Estimable Member

Hi Glassjaw & welcome to the forum!

If you haven´t done it before then I would suggest that you try out a teacher, take a few lessons and ask this person to help you put a good practise-routine together. This way your playing can benefit the most from the time you spend with the guitar.

If you don´t want to spend money on a teacher, there´s several "practise-guides" and tips that you could find online or in guitar mags (Guitar Techniques is really good for example) and so on. That requires a little bit more effort on your part though, to put it all together. Of course; with a good teacher you would also be able to ask all kinds of questions you might have - about technique, theory, song-writing and what-not, so that might make it worth the cost after all.

And there are some good tips on practising and excercises on GN as well of course. Although much material has sadly been removed lately because of THE LAW :evil:

I guess it´s up to you to decide what works best for you - good luck!