Clear all

any suggestions?

21 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@antny)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I have been playing for about 6 years now so while i'm not great I ain't that bad either. I own a late 90's american strat and a solid state 2x10 fender princeton chorus amp. I recently realized that while the blues are fun to play and sound good when i'm alone the music that really gets my blood going always seems to been rock and punk(i.e. Janes addiction, pennywise, Social Distortion, Fugazi, Bad religion, Hendrix, Buckcherry, etc). My rig sounds great clean but it doesn't cut it for most of what I really enjoy. Any suggestions on a rig that can pull off that big throaty rock sound like social d, and the tighter more aggressive modern sound like penny wise. How do studio Les pauls sound. I hear they work pretty well and are cheaper than a regular les paul. I see Ibanez used by many bands but how do they work for straight rock n roll. Also what about the modeling amp route? Not looking to spend more than $1000-$1500. The cheaper the better but I feel good enough to spend a little since it has been so long. Any suggestions would help, sorry if this type of thing has been posted a million times before.

(@wishus)
Trusted Member

The cheapest thing would be to buy a distortion pedal.

I think your strat is fine for rock and punk, unless you just prefer the humbucker les paul sound. Hendrix played a strat. :)

Third Take a blog about home recording

ReplyQuote
(@yoyo286)
Noble Member