Notifications
Clear all

Beginner guitar instruction for an experienced musician

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@bandit_matt)
Topic starter  

So imagine this scenario: I (a self-taught guitar player) decide to step my game up, and expand on my musicianship in general. I started taking voice lessons!. I've learned a lot more about reading sheet music, more about theory and dynamics, and it's been good for me.

In addition to teaching voice lessons, 5-7 days a week for a wide range of skills, my instructor is a choir-leading, piano-playing university student (studying music & music education). So she's good, but very much classically trained in music, voice and piano. Now, she wants to learn guitar!

I offered to teach her, having taught several friends & family members some of the basics of guitar, and I have an extensive background in part-time teaching of various skills & topics. However, I learned guitar through GuitarNoise and mucking around the Internet. How can I best teach her? What should I focus on? What can I skim over?

My lessons usually run about 30 minutes, and each lesson will usually deal with a scale (finger dexterity, learning the fret board, alternate picking), one or two chords and some strum patterns. My usual "basic theory" stuff will probably be omitted for her. The first lesson is mostly going to be parts of the guitar, holding a pick, picking & strumming, etc. But where should I go after that?

I understand I'll have to adjust where to go once we've started, but I really feel I lack an overall direction for us to start towards! And that's something I've never tried to teach without (or, when I did, poor lessons resulted!)

"I'm done with school and being a boy scout, and too smart to take up smoking. Gimme a guitar and a motorcycle!"
-Washburn D10S
-Fender Nashville Telecaster
-Gibson Les Paul Studio

Cat
(@cat)
Noble Member

Go for it! Good...and smart...idea.

Cat

"Feel what you play...play what you feel!"

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)