Clear all

Casual or Classical

6 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@sin-city-sid)
Prominent Member
Topic starter  

Years ago when I started playing for the first time I had a hard time playing in the casual position, both picking and fretting, so I started to play in classical. Then I quit playing for 10 years. Now that I'm back to playing I decided to just play in the casual position only and just get used to it. Problem, I can't find the strings with my picking hand. I'm constantly missing the strings. I never had a problem in classical position, it just looks goofy. Well I was over at the Jackson forum and one of the guys from the UK uploaded a video of him playing and to say the least he was freakin rippin that guitar right up like John Peturcci and playing in classical position.

My question should I go back to playing in classical, I think it's much easier. How many of you play in classical or recommend it?

(@banre)
Reputable Member

I've really been playing seriously for about 9 months now. I had no lessons and naturally evolved to the classical position. Seemed easier to start with. I could see strings, better feel.

My first lesson was this past Monday. The first thing my instructor asked me to change was moving to the casual position. It felt quite awkward at first, but now it's Thursday and it feels just fine. It didn't take me long at all to swap it up.

Unseen Evidence
UE Reverb Nation Page

ReplyQuote
 Nils
(@nils)
Famed Member

I naturally gravitated towards the casual position since I play both acoustic and electric and had actually started on electric. I also like to play standing most of the time so it was easier.

I also found it too difficult switching when I did try the classical position for awhile.

Nils' Page - Guitar Information and other Stuff
DMusic Samples

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

if I casually grab my acoustic for a quick diversion I play sitting. I find myself in the classical postion; if I understand the definition.