Notifications
Clear all

Classical/Acoustic Guitar: Question

11 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@scoks)
Topic starter  

I've had a guitar in the house for a couple of years now, and I'm not sure who bought it or what they were intending to do with it... But I decided to learn to play it a couple of weeks ago, and somewhere I came across 'types of guitars' through one of my internet searches. From what I could gather, it looks like a classical guitar, but it doesn't have nylon strings; they're steel. Now, I don't know if this guitar was new or what when it got here, and it plays fine - I've had a 'guitarist' friend tune it and things like that - and I've been using it without any problems for the last two weeks. I'd like to know though, if I should buy nylon strings instead, and if this 'arrangement' really makes any difference, seeing as I'm only learning and not too concerned about the finer acoustic aspects yet.
I also have an Ibanez electric at home that my boyfriend dropped off because he wasn't using it and wasn't likely to. Apparently it has a 'floating bridge' that needs fixing. All that aside, I'm really more comfortable with this acoustic, so any help would be great. :)

(@scrybe)
Famed Member

Some parlour guitars (which use steel strings) have headstocks which look like classical ones (with two long slits in the headstock, where the strings are wound). It would probably help us if you could post any photos of the two guitars, as there's a very good chance one of us could identify the guitars for you.

It wont hurt a steel string guitar to put nylon strings on it, but if you put steel strings on a classical guitar, it could break as it isn't designed to take that much pressure. The fact that it hasn't (as yet) suggests it could well be a steel string guitar, but I'd post anyway to be sure.

Welcome to GN!

Scrybe wonders where she can find a boyf who will happily donate an Ibanez to her...

Ra Er Ga.

Ninjazz have SuperChops.

http://www.blipfoto.com/Scrybe